WHO’S IN? Eight Conference Championship Games Conclude ESPN Networks’ 1,000 Game Regular Season Slate; ACC, Big 12, and Pac-12 Championship Games with Major College Football Playoff Implications

  • Baylor, Clemson, Oklahoma and Utah All Vying for Conference Championship Titles and College Football Playoff Berths
  • Appalachian State, Boise State, Cincinnati and Memphis Contending for New Year’s Six Selection
  • Chris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit and Molly McGrath Call Utah-Oregon; Sean McDonough, Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe on Baylor-Oklahoma; Steve Levy, Brian Griese, Todd McShay and Maria Taylor Broadcast Virginia-Clemson
  • College Football Playoff Field Unveiled Exclusively on ESPN

College football’s dramatic regular season finale will play out across ESPN’s networks, as eight conference champions will be crowned Friday, Dec. 6 and Saturday, Dec. 7. The action leads into the exclusive revealing of the College Football Playoff teams and New Year’s Six on Sunday, Dec. 8. The ACC, Big 12 and Pac-12 Championship Games will have significant CFP implications as Baylor, Clemson, Oklahoma and Utah look to add conference championships to their resumes. The American, Mountain West and Sun Belt Conference Championship results will play a significant role in deciding which Group of Five team earns a New Year’s Six bid and the Marathon MAC Championship will jumpstart the conference’s bowl bids.

Friday Night: Pac-12 Championship Airs on ABC for the First Time; Utah Looks to Bolster CFP Resume
The Pac-12 Championship between Utah and Oregon (8 p.m. ET) will be called by Chris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit and Molly McGrath on ABC from Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif. The Utes are in their second consecutive Pac-12 Championship Game and a win would give the Utes their first Pac-12 Championship, while also keeping them square in the CFP conversation. Oregon is undefeated in the annual game, having won in 2011 and 2014.

Rematch: Baylor-Oklahoma Meet in Big 12 Championship
The Dr Pepper Big 12 Championship (noon) will begin an ABC tripleheader on Saturday, as Baylor and Oklahoma will play in AT&T Stadium from Arlington with Sean McDonough, Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe on the call. The game is a rematch of their regular season matchup, which saw Baylor jump out to a 28-3 lead only to see the Sooners complete their largest comeback in school history and win 34-31. Both teams enter the conference finale with just one loss on the season.

Clemson Looks to Finish Undefeated for Second Consecutive Season; Virginia Looks to Capture First ACC Championship Game Win
The ACC Championship between Virginia and Clemson will be played on ABC’s Saturday Night Football (7:30 p.m.) as the Tigers look to claim their fifth straight conference championship and clinch their fifth consecutive CFP appearance. Virginia is making their debut in the conference championship game and a victory would give the Cavaliers their first conference championship since 1995. Steve Levy, Brian Griese, Todd McShay and Maria Taylor will call the game from Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C.

ACC Network will offer ACC Championship Skycast as an alternate viewing option which will include a continuous feed of the Skycam, the camera that maneuvers above the field of play and provides a behind-the-offense look at game action, along with natural sound from Bank of America Stadium. More ACC Network plans onsite will be announced soon.

American, Mountain West and Sun Belt Championship Games Help Shape New Year’s Six
ABC airs the American Athletic Championship for the second consecutive year, as Cincinnati plays at Memphis (3:30 p.m.) in a rematch from their Black Friday matchup, while ESPN will televise the Sun Belt Championship between Louisiana and Appalachian State (noon) and Mountain West Championship with Hawai’i and Boise State (4 p.m.). All three games will be critical in determining the Group of Five’s New Year’s Six representative, which will be awarded to the highest-ranked Group of Five Champion in the final CFP rankings.

Dave Pasch, Greg McElroy and Tom Luginbill will call the American Athletic Championship, with Roy Philpott, Kelly Stouffer and Lauren Sisler announcing the Mountain West contest. Clay Matvick, Ryan Leaf and Quint Kessenich round out the trio of games, calling the Sun Belt finale.

Marathon MAC Championship and SWAC Championships
ESPN’s championship slate will include the Marathon MAC Championship as Miami (Ohio) plays Central Michigan (noon) on ESPN2 with Anish Shroff, John Congemi and Kris Budden on the call from Ford Field in Detroit.

The SWAC Championship between Southern and Alcorn State on ESPNU (4 p.m.) will round out the action. Tiffany Greene, Jay Walker, and Lericia Harris will be in Lorman, Miss.

College Football Playoff Selection Day Concludes Championship Weekend
ESPN’s conference championship weekend game action leads directly into the sport’s Selection Day on Sunday, Dec. 8. ESPN will exclusively reveal the College Football Playoff Selection Committee’s final rankings which will determine the four College Football Playoff teams and the complete New Year’s Six participants in a four-hour show beginning at noon.  Complete details for programming surrounding Selection Day will be announced this week.

The committee’s newest rankings will be reveled Tuesday, Dec. 3, at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

CFP rankings from Nov. 26 utilized in table below

Date Time (ET) Matchup/Commentators Network
Fri, Dec 6 8 p.m. Pac-12 Championship (Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, Calif.)
No. 6 Utah vs. No. 14 OregonChris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit, Molly McGrath
Radio: Sean Kelley, Barrett Jones, Ian Fitzsimmons
ABC and ESPN Radio
Sat, Dec 7 Noon Dr Pepper Big 12 Championship (AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas)
No. 9 Baylor vs. No. 7 OklahomaSean McDonough, Todd Blackledge, Holly Rowe
Radio: Marc Kestecher, Ben Hartstock
ABC and ESPN Radio
  Sun Belt Championship (Kidd-Brewer Stadium, Boone, NC)
Louisiana at Appalachian StateClay Matvick, Ryan Leaf, Quint Kessenich
  MAC Championship (Ford Field, Detroit)
Miami (Ohio) vs. Central MichiganAnish Shroff, John Congemi, Kris Budden
  3:30 p.m. American Championship (Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium, Memphis)
No. 19 Cincinnati at No. 18 MemphisDave Pasch, Greg McElroy, Tom Luginbill
  4 p.m. Mountain West Championship (Albertsons Stadium, Boise, Idaho)
Hawaii at No. 20 Boise StateRoy Philpott, Kelly Stouffer, Lauren Sisler
  SWAC Championship Game (Spinks-Casem Stadium, Lorman, Miss)
Southern at Alcorn StateTiffany Greene, Jay Walker, Lericia Harris
  7:30 p.m. ACC Championship (Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte)
Virginia vs. No. 3 ClemsonSteve Levy, Brian Griese, Todd McShay/Maria Taylor
Radio: Sean Kelley, Barrett Jones, Ian Fitzsimmons
ABC and ESPN Radio



Media contact: Derek Volner at 860-384-9986; [email protected] and @DerekVolner

Source link