Senior Reporter, HuffPost
Black excellence took center stage at the 2022 BET Awards on Sunday night to celebrate achievements across music, television, film, and sports.
Taraji P. Henson once again hosted the show at Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theater, where artists, including Chloe Bailey, Jack Harlow, Roddy Ricch, Chance the Rapper, Ella Mai and Lizzo, who kicked off the festivities with a disco-fied opening number, performed.
Doja Cat lead the nominations heading into the ceremony with six nods, while Ari Lennox and Drake tied as the second most-nominated artists with each picking up four.
But the trio failed to take home any wins at the ceremony with Silk Sonic and Jazmine Sullivan, who delivered an impassioned plea about abortion rights onstage, emerging victorious in major categories, including Album of the Year and Best Female R&B/Pop Artist.
The night’s highest honor, however, went to Sean “Diddy” Combs, who received the lifetime achievement award at the show, following last year’s winner Queen Latifah.
Combs took the stage for a star-studded retrospective at the ceremony, which featured past collaborators, including Mary J. Blige, Jodeci, Nas, Lil’ Kim, Busta Rhymes, The Lox, Bryson Tiller, Faith Evans and The Maverick City Choir.
The music mogul was coronated with a special introduction by Babyface and Kanye “Ye” West, who stunned the crowd with an appearance following a break from the public eye.
“He broke down so many doors of classism, taste, culture, swag,” the rapper, breathing heavily though a face mask, said onstage. “Puff, if I never told you, I love you. You’re my brother.”
But West wasn’t the only surprise guest with Brandy showcasing her rap skills during Harlow’s performance hit single “First Class” and Mariah Carey blessing us all with a live rendition of “Big Energy” alongside Latto.
Check out the full list of nominees and winners below.
WINNER: Jazmine Sullivan
Ari Lennox
Doja Cat
Mary J. Blige
Summer Walker
WINNER: The Weeknd
Chris Brown
Lucky Daye
Yung Bleu
WINNER: Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak)
Chlöe X Halle
City Girls
Lil Baby & Lil Durk
Young Dolph & Key Glock
WINNER: Wizkid feat. Justin Bieber & Tems – “Essence”
DJ Khaled fest. Lil Baby & Lil Durk – “Every Chance I Get”
Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar – “Family Ties
Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”
Drake feat. Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy”
Bia feat. Nicki Minaj – “Whole Lotta Money (Remix)”
WINNER: Megan Thee Stallion
Cardi B
Doja Cat
Nicki Minaj
WINNER: Kendrick Lamar
J. Cole
Jack Harlow
Kanye West
Lil Baby
WINNER: Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar – “Family Ties”
Chlöe – “Have Mercy”
Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”
Ari Lennox – “Pressure”
Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak) – “Smokin Out The Window”
Drake feat. Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy”
WINNER: Anderson .Paak, aka Director .Paak
Benny Boom
Beyoncé & Dikayl Rimmasch
Director X
Hype Williams
Missy Elliott
Baby Keem
Benny the Butcher
Muni Long
Yung Bleu
WINNER: Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak) – “An Evening with Silk Sonic”
H.E.R. – “Back of My Mind”
Tyler, the Creator – “Call Me If You Get Lost”
Drake – “Certified Lover Boy”
Kanye West – “Donda”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Heaux Tales, Mo’ Tales: The Deluxe”
Doja Cat – “Planet Her”
Marvin Sapp – “All In Your Hands”
Kanye West – “Come to Life”
Kelly Price – “Grace”
Fred Hammond – “Hallelujah”
H.E.R. & Tauren Wells – “Hold Us Together (Hope Mix)”
Election Worship & Maverick City Music – “Jireh”
WINNER: Lil Baby X Kirk Franklin – “We Win”
Alicia Keys – “Best of Me (Originals)”
WINNER: Mary J. Blige – “Good Morning Gorgeous”
Chlöe – “Have Mercy”
Ari Lennox – “Pressure”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Roster”
Summer Walker & Ari Lennox – “Unloyal”
Doja Cat – “Woman”
Dave (UK)
Dinos (France)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Fireboy DML (Nigeria)
Little Simz (UK)
Ludmilla (Brazil)
Major League DJZ (South Africa)
Tayc (France)
WINNER: Tems (Nigeria)
WINNER: “King Richard”
“Space Jam: A New Legacy”
“Summer of Soul”
“The Harder They Fall”
Adrian Holmes – “Bel-Air”
Anthony Anderson – “Black-ish”
Damson Idris – “Snowfall”
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy of Macbeth”
Forest Whitaker – “Respect” / “Godfather of Harlem”
Jabari Banks – “Bel-Air”
Sterling K. Brown – “This Is Us”
WINNER: Will Smith – “King Richard”
Aunjanue Ellis – “King Richard”
Coco Jones – “Bel-Air”
Issa Rae – “Insecure”
Jennifer Hudson – “Respect”
Mary J. Blige – “Power Book II: Ghost”
Queen Latifah – “The Equalizer”
Quinta Brunson – “Abbott Elementary”
Regina King – “The Harder They Fal”
WINNER: Zendaya – “Euphoria” / “Spider-Man: No Way Home”
Akira Akbar
Demi Singleton
Miles Brown
Saniyya Sidney
WINNER: Marsai Martin

WINNER: Naomi Osaka
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Sha’Carri Richardson
Simone Biles
WINNER: Stephen Curry
Aaron Donald
Bubba Wallace
Giannis Antetokounmpo
Ja Morant
LeBron James
Senior Reporter, HuffPost